In February 1941, during World War II, the Reserve Officers Association organized people in the La Crosse area to erect a flagpole atop Grandad Bluff, 600 feet above the city. Children in public and parochial schools and students at Western Wisconsin Technical College and the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse donated pennies, nickels, and dimes to help fund the project. The original 65-foot flagpole stood for more than 40 years through World War II, the Korean War, and the Vietnam War before being replaced by a 75-foot flagpole in 1981. A lightning strike in 1984 destroyed the base of that pole, and the remaining undamaged section was reinstalled in Copeland Park near the railroad exhibit. On July 4, 1984, a third flagpole was dedicated at Grandad Bluff. On Nov. 10, 1998, a 93 mph wind gust blew over and destroyed that flagpole. On March 17, 1999, a 70-foot fourth flagpole was erected, and on March 23, 1999, as a new 12 x 18 foot flag was raised, an adult Bald Eagle soared overhead. The site honors the men and women of the Armed Forces of the United States who served to preserve liberty and freedom, including those who died in war and those who returned home. William and Louise Bruring donated funds for the 1999 flagpole and flag.