Washington-on-the-Brazos began in 1822 as a ferry crossing where the historic La Bahia Road, now Ferry Street, crossed the Brazos River. A townsite was laid out there in 1834 and was probably named for Washington, Georgia, home of a leading settler. In 1835, as political differences with Mexico moved toward war, the General Council, the insurgent Texas government, met in the town. Local citizens promoted it as the site for the Convention of 1836 and provided a free meeting hall, so Texas' Declaration of Independence was signed in an unfinished building owned by a gunsmith. The Provisional Government of the Republic was also organized there, but on March 17 it was removed as news of the advancing Mexican Army caused panic throughout the region. The townspeople also fled on March 20, 1836, in the Runaway Scrape. After the Texan victory at San Jacinto, the town prospered for a time. It again served as capital of Texas from 1842 to 1845, became the center of Washington State Park in 1916, and now contains historic buildings and Barrington, home of Anson Jones, the last President of Texas.