Pueblo of Picuris
HISTORY · HISTORICAL MARKER
Pueblo of Picuris
History
5
When Spaniards arrived at Picuris in 1591, they described the pueblo as consisting of nine-story roomblocks. The church is named for its patron saint, San Lorenzo, and according to oral tradition has been rebuilt five times. The original church was destroyed in the 1680 Pueblo Revolt and rebuilt ca. 1776. Following a multi-year restoration, it was rededicated on August 10, in 2000, an annual feast day and the 320th anniversary of the uprising. The name Picuris means "those who paint" in Tiwa. Once one of the largest pueblos, today Picuris is among New Mexico's smallest.
PHOTOS
Photo: Thomas Chris English
Photo: Anonymous
Photo: Anonymous
Photo: Anonymous
Photo: Anonymous
Photo: Anonymous
Photo: Anonymous
Photo: Anonymous
Photo: Anonymous
Photo: Anonymous
Photo: Anonymous
Photo: Anonymous
Photo: Cosmos Mariner
FIND IT
© 2026 MainEngine